TECO’s Steve Swinson Spearheads Energy Scholarship Program

TECO's President and CEO Steve Swinson current chairs the International District Energy Association's John Gray Scholarship program. IDEA’s board of directors established the program in 2009 to recognize potential future leaders in the district energy and combined heat and power industries and to support education and enrichment, especially among young people just getting started in their career.

Steve bestows the awards on the year’s winners during IDEA’s annual conference. 2018’s winners were Hardik Satish Miyani and Joseph Clinton.

Hardik is pursuing his Master’s degree in energy engineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He holds a 4.0 grade point average and is scheduled to graduate in December 2018. Joseph is a junior at Franklin High School in Franklin, Tenn., who plans to attend Mississippi State University for the five-year combined program to obtain an MBA and a Bachelor of Science degree in building construction sciences. Although Hardik was unable to attend the conference to receive the honor, Joseph and his dad were on hand to participate in the June 2018 ceremony.

A longtime IDEA member, Steve Swinson is honored to head up the scholarship program. “John Gray, the scholarship’s namesake, was a close friend and colleague of mine. He was a proud Canadian, a gifted engineer, a lifelong learner, an IDEA president and a devoted IDEA member for more than 50 years. His motto, as enshrined on the scholarship plaque, is ‘Live simply. Give more. Expect less.’ It’s how John lived.”

Photo, left to right: Stephen Clinton, scholarship recipient Joseph Clinton, and TECO’s Steve Swinson. Courtesy International District Energy Association.

View All

TECO in the News


Related Industry News

XML Sitemap